• Menu
  • Menu

The 2016 Jazzy Awards – Player of the Year Henrik Stenson


Yes, I know, most people voted for Dustin Johnson. But I think that’s a sympathy vote. I also think we in the golf media are doing that herd groupthink thing again.

Dustin won the U.S. Open at Oakmont with a cloud hanging over his head, but he didn’t shoot 63 on Sunday and 20-under overall setting a major championship record. It was one of the greatest rounds of golf in history – period. Point Stenson.

Steonson also won the BMW International Open, finished close at both the Olympics and PGA Championship (7th and Silver Medal respectively) and won a critical singles match against Jordan Spieth 3&2 to help Europe win the Ryder Cup. Stenson finished the season as golf’s hottest player.
Johnson had three wins, but his season utterly petered out at the end, when he missed the cut at the PGA and limped along in the Ryder Cup, narrowly edging Chris Wood, getting blown out twice in fourballs, claiming his only win against a flaccid Lee Westwood, who foundered all weekend.

Johnson did, however, win the GWAA award. I just chose to vote for Stenson instead.


2015 Jordan Spieth
2014 Rory McIlroy
2013 Adam Scott
2012 Rory McIlroy
2011 Webb Simpson
2010 Graeme McDowell
2009 Geoff Ogilvy
2008 Padraig Harrington
2007 Zach Johnson